posted by Luchi 77 at jueves, septiembre 14, 2006

Long Beach Dub Allstars - Wonders of the World.
On their follow-up to 1999's Right Back, the Long Beach Dub Allstars continue stirring their musical melting pot. Wonders of the World combines heavy dub, shimmery pop, bouncy ska, and aggro alt-rock into a disc that roller-coasters between spaced out ("Wonders Dub II" and "Grass Cloud") and punked out ("No Way"). The ex-Sublime members also pulled in some talent from the hip-hop world, getting from Black Eyed Peas on "Sunny Hours" and Chali2na from Jurassic 5 on "Life Goes On." Even with all the special appearances and genre-crossing, though, the Allstars don't crack the surface, covering the same ground that bands like Sugar Ray and 311are already treading. While the band does flow seamlessly between rock and reggae, Wonders of the World feels coated in a tepid, radio-friendly gloss that, despite a few bright spots, dulls by the end of the disc. C&P.

Wonders Dub I
Sunny Hours+
Listen To DJ's
Rolled Up
Every Mother's Dream
Life Goes On
It Ain't Easy
Wonders Dub II
No Way
Lonely End
Talkin' The Truth
Free Love
Kablammin' It
Grass Cloud
Sunny Hours (Reprise)